Home Forums Shops Trade Avatar Inbox Games Donate

Not Logged In

"Where to, Miss? To the Stars."
Unhappy I'm A Horrible Driver/Driving Anxiety   #1  
Hey Trisphee!

So, I've had my learner's permit for a while now, say two years? (I got it renewed once.)
Whenever I'm on the road, I get terribly anxious. My palms get all sweaty and I sometimes I make mistakes which pisses people off which makes me even more anxious. Although, I do okay-ish for most of the time, parking is where it really gets me. ;_; 90% of the time, I'm too close to one side of the lines in a parking space or crooked. Oh, and I'm really, just completely, AWKWARD at handling the steering wheel. For some reason, I don't maneuver the wheel smoothly like other drivers? I don't know.

Any tips? I really want to pass my road test before I turn 20 because my mother makes it a big deal that most people my age drive already, which I don't really know if it's true or not but it's not helping my self esteem. (I'm 19, btw.)
Old Posted 06-22-2017, 01:52 AM Reply With Quote  
We're all mad here.
Practice. That's all it is. If you have your learner's permit I assume you have another driver with you? If your anxious, maybe see if there are other people you can drive with that might make you more comfortable. Even now after I've had my novice license for 2 years I still get wiggy driving with my dad. He's a terrible passenger and likes to fiddle with stuff. I have no such issues when my stepmother was with me. I was naturally nervous though, and I found that just practicing until I got better was the way to sort that out.

If it helps, do you have another car you could try? Certain cars are harder to drive than others. I don't like driving my mom's van, but I love my little car. Same with my driving instructors' cars. Some I had an easy time in, others not so much. It affected how I thought I was doing.